Digital identity of the future now active at cardossier

Aktuelles

The first pilot implementation of Self-Sovereign Identity technology in Switzerland has now attained production stage. Decentralized systems experts esatus and AdNovum have successfully integrated the decentralized identity management technology at cardossier, for a more secure and easier log-on process to the association’s collaboration and development tools.

Cardossier, the Swiss decentralised ecosystem for seamless documentation of vehicle lifecycle, is on a fast track towards digital future. Going forward, the cardossier platform, which was developed by AdNovum, will incorporate the next generation of identity and access management technology. This will allow users to benefit from easier validation processes for accessing the platform and will be able to log on without passwords. In order to gain practical experience, the application will go live as a pilot implementation for all association members. The German company esatus AG with their modular design solution “SeLF” was selected for smooth integration into cardossier’s existing IT structure.

Innovator cardossier – a pioneer in decentralised identity

All this was enabled by means of open and free technologies, provided by the global Self-Sovereign Identity (SSI) community, such as Hyperledger Indy und Hyperledger Aries. Certificates for passwordless access, known as “Verifiable Credentials”, are being issued on the world’s first productive SSI network by pionee Sovrin. In the future, additional cardossier service offers on the platform, such as vehicle registration, service entries in the dossiers and insurance certificates, will be linked to those decentralized identities, too. The first steps towards this goal are expected for 2021. “We are very proud to be able to demonstrate the clear advantages of decentralized technologies in this joint Swiss digital identity project with cardossier”, says Matthias Loepfe, President of cardossier.

The German company esatus is paving the way for SSI

SSI is a global topic that has gained enormous momentum, with productive use cases increasing significantly worldwide. Numerous innovation drivers can be found among the early adopters, showing that SSI is no longer a laboratory technology. “Lighthouse projects like cardossier are extremely important in this phase,” says Dr. André Kudra, CIO of esatus AG. Kudra continues: “Strong signals like those of cardossier and their members strengthen the community and make it easier for others to step into the decentralized world with SSI.” Due to its long-standing background in identity and access management, esatus AG was interested in SSI early on. Today, thanks to its distinctive in-house software development expertise, the esatus solution suite “SeLF” represents the link between SSI technology of the future and the existing IT world.

Secure Blockchain for Business now also with SSI

For AdNovum, one thing is for sure, the digital future will be a decentralised one. The “Secure Blockchain for Business” solution implemented at cardossier is part of the decentralised technological services in AdNovum’s service portfolio. “We are excited to implement decentralised identities into our blockchain platform by means of SSI technology,” says Stéphane Mingot, Head of AdNovum Incubator. SSI puts actors from different organizations into dynamic interaction with minimal effort, making it an optimal enabler for any digitalization project. ” Given the expected large number and diversity of users and stakeholders, cardossier is an ideal and innovative practical use case,” adds Mingot.

cardossier

cardossier is the first digital public-private ecosystem in Switzerland and Liechtenstein. The aim is to establish a comprehensive platform for the transparent mapping of a vehicle’s lifecycle, secured by blockchain technology. Within a short space of time, a large proportion of the relevant market partners in the automotive sector in Switzerland and Liechtenstein have joined the association, namely: AMAG Import AG, AMAG Leasing AG, Association of Road Traffic Offices ASA, Emil Frey AG, MultiLease AG, AXA Insurance, AdNovum Informatik AG, Auto Gewerbe Verband Schweiz AGVS, Die Mobiliar, auto-i-dat AG, PostFinance AG, Audatex/Solera, the Road Traffic Office of the Canton of Aargau and the Road Traffic Office of the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Federal Roads Office ASTRA, auto-schweiz, Swiss Leasing Association, AutoScout24, TCS, Mobility Genossenschaft and Porsche Schweiz AG. The main initiator of cardossier and development partner of the association is the Swiss software company AdNovum. AdNovum built the cardossier platform based on its “Secure Blockchain for Business” solution and maintains and develops it on behalf of the cardossier association. The platform is operated by all cardossier partners. The Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts and the University of Zurich were research partners in the underlying Innosuisse project and are also members of the association.

AdNovum

The Swiss software company AdNovum offers its customers comprehensive support in the fast and secure digitalization of business processes from consulting and design to implementation and operation. AdNovum’s core competencies also include identity and access management as well as security solutions and security consulting. The focus is on customers who want to differentiate themselves through innovative digitalization solutions. These include banks, insurance companies and public authorities.

AdNovum was founded in 1988. Today, around 560 employees work at the headquarters in Zurich and in the offices in Bern, Lausanne, Budapest, Lisbon, Ho Chi Minh City and Singapore.

Twitter: @AdNovum

Digitale Identität der Zukunft schon heute im Einsatz bei cardossier

Thumbnail-Aktuelles_cardossier_2020

Die erste Pilot-Implementierung von Self-Sovereign Identity Technologie in der Schweiz läuft jetzt produktiv. Die Experten für verteilte Systeme esatus und AdNovum rüsten den Verein cardossier mit dezentralem Identitätsmanagement aus, um die Anmeldung an die Kollaborations- und Entwicklungstools des Vereins sicherer und einfacher zu gestalten.

Cardossier, das schweizerische dezentrale Ökosystem für lückenlose Dokumentationen im Fahrzeuglebenszyklus, ist weiterhin auf der Überholspur Richtung Zukunft. Zukünftig wird die von AdNovum entwickelte cardossier-Plattform um die nächste Generation des Identitäts- und Berechtigungsmanagements erweitert. Die Nutzer sollen sich beim Zugang zur Plattform zukünftig wesentlich einfacher verifizieren und passwortlos anmelden. Um damit Erfahrungen zu sammeln, geht der Verein mit dieser Lösung in einer Pilot-Implementierung für alle Vereinsmitglieder live. Die deutsche esatus AG lieferte dazu ihre Komplettlösung „SeLF“, die aufgrund modularen Designs einfach in die vorhandene IT-Struktur von cardossier integriert werden konnte.

Innovator cardossier ist auch Vorreiter bei dezentraler Identität

Möglich machen dies offene und freie Technologien aus der globalen Self-Sovereign Identity (SSI) Community wie Hyperledger Indy und Hyperledger Aries. Zertifikate für den passwortlosen Zugang, bekannt als „Verifiable Credentials“, werden auf dem weltweit ersten produktiven SSI-Netz des Pioniers Sovrin ausgestellt. Zukünftig sollen auch die cardossier-Prozesse auf der Plattform wie z. B. die Immatrikulation von Fahrzeugen, Serviceeinträge in die Dossiers und Versicherungsnachweise mit dezentralen Identitäten verbunden sein. Erste Schritte dazu sind in 2021 zu erwarten. „Wir sind sehr stolz darauf, dass wir mit cardossier in der Schweiz die Vorteile dezentraler Technologien jetzt auch bei der digitalen Identität so deutlich aufzeigen können“, so Matthias Loepfe, Präsident von cardossier.

esatus ist der deutsche SSI-Brückenbauer

SSI ist ein globales Thema mit inzwischen enormem Momentum, die produktive Nutzung nimmt weltweit deutlich zu. Besonders Innovationstreiber positionieren sich als Early Adopter und demonstrieren, dass es sich nicht mehr um eine Labortechnologie handelt. „Leuchtturm-Projekte wie cardossier sind in dieser Phase äußerst wichtig“, so Dr. André Kudra, CIO der esatus AG. Kudra weiter: „Starke Signale wie die von cardossier und seinen Mitgliedern stärken die Community und erleichtern anderen den Schritt in die dezentrale Welt mit SSI.“ Die esatus AG hat sich aufgrund ihres langjährigen Hintergrundes im Identitäts- und Berechtigungsmanagement schon früh für SSI interessiert. Heute baut sie dank ausgeprägter hauseigener Softwareentwicklungskompetenz mit „SeLF“ für jedermann eine Brücke zwischen der Zukunftstechnologie SSI und der bestehenden IT-Welt.

Secure Blockchain for Business nun auch mit SSI

Auch bei AdNovum ist man sicher: Die digitale Zukunft ist dezentral. Mit der für cardossier angewendeten Lösung „Secure Blockchain for Business“ gehören technologische Leistungen der dezentralen Welt inzwischen fest zum AdNovum Serviceportfolio. „Wir freuen uns, dezentrale Identitäten mit SSI-Technologie auf unsere Blockchain-Plattform zu bringen“, so Stéphane Mingot, Head of AdNovum Incubator. SSI versetzt Akteure verschiedener Organisationen mit minimalem Aufwand in dynamische Interaktion und ist somit ein optimaler Enabler für jegliche Digitalisierungsvorhaben. „cardossier mit seiner künftig zu erwartenden großen Zahl und Vielfalt von Benutzern und beteiligten Akteuren ist dafür ein idealer praktischer Innovations-Anwendungsfall“, ergänzt Mingot.

cardossier

cardossier ist das erste digitale öffentlich-private Ökosystem in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein. Ziel ist die Etablierung einer umfassenden Plattform für die transparente Abbildung des Lebenslaufs eines Fahrzeugs, garantiert durch die Vorteile der Blockchain-Technologie. Dem Verein haben sich innerhalb kurzer Zeit ein großer Teil der relevanten Marktpartner der Autobranche in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein angeschlossen, namentlich: AMAG Import AG, AMAG Leasing AG, Vereinigung der Straßenverkehrsämter ASA, Emil Frey AG, MultiLease AG, AXA Versicherung, AdNovum Informatik AG, Auto Gewerbe Verband Schweiz AGVS, Die Mobiliar, auto-i-dat AG, PostFinance AG, Audatex/Solera, das Straßenverkehrsamt des Kantons Aargau und das Amt für Straßenverkehr Fürstentum Liechtenstein, das Bundesamt für Straßen ASTRA, auto-schweiz, Schweizerischer Leasingverband, AutoScout24, TCS, Mobility Genossenschaft und Porsche Schweiz AG. Hauptinitiator des cardossier und Entwicklungspartner des Vereins ist das Schweizer Softwareunternehmen AdNovum. AdNovum hat die cardossier-Plattform auf Basis ihrer Lösung „Secure Blockchain for Business“ aufgebaut und betreut und entwickelt sie im Auftrag des Vereins cardossier weiter. Betrieben wird die Plattform von allen cardossier-Partnern. Die Hochschule Luzern und die Universität Zürich waren Forschungspartner des zugrunde liegenden Innosuisse-Projekts und sind ebenfalls Vereinsmitglieder.

AdNovum

Das Schweizer Software-Unternehmen AdNovum unterstützt Kunden bei der schnellen und sicheren Digitalisierung von Geschäftsprozessen von der Beratung und Konzeption über die Implementierung bis hin zum Betrieb. Zu AdNovums Kernkompetenzen gehören weiter Identity and Access Management sowie Security-Lösungen und Security-Beratung. Im Fokus stehen Kunden, die sich über innovative Digitalisierungslösungen differenzieren wollen. Dazu gehören unter anderem Banken, Versicherungen und Behörden.

AdNovum wurde 1988 gegründet. Heute arbeiten am Hauptsitz in Zürich und in den Büros in Bern, Lausanne, Budapest, Lissabon, Ho Chi Minh City und Singapur rund 560 Mitarbeitende.

Twitter: @AdNovum