Blockchain – The opportunity in Identity & Access Management

The year 2016 was characterised by a great variety of innovative topics: Digitalization, Internet of Things, Industry 4.0 and over and over again: Blockchain. Blockchain – The Distributed Ledger Technology – is known to many only through crypto-currencies such as Bitcoin, and is therefore sometimes associated with negative associations. In IT professionals, however, this innovative database technology is seen as a revolutionary approach in a great variety of use cases.

This year esatus AG has been particularly concerned with the use case Identity & Access Management via Blockchain. The results of our research team were discussed at the Internet Security Days in Cologne and at the European Identity and Cloud Conference in Munich. In addition, esatus AG’s specialist publications appeared in the and iX. An important step was the foundation of the TeleTrusT working group Blockchain, which is headed by Dr. Kudra, CIO of esatus AG. Please look forward to a position paper, which will be published early next year.


For more information on the use case Identity & Access Management via Blockchain, you can download this presentation by Dr. Kudra from the event “NET WORK: Blockchain” of the Austrian Federal Economic Chamber and Austria Pro.

A more detailed discussion can also be found in the podcast of Stiegler Legal.

For all those who are interested in the use case Identity & Access management, esatus AG in cooperation with brainbot Technologies will offer a workshop on this topic next year.

Blockchain – Die Chance im Identity & Access Management

Das Jahr 2016 war geprägt von den verschiedensten innovativen Themen: Digitalisierung, Internet of Things, Industrie 4.0 und immer wieder: Blockchain. Blockchain – The Distributed Ledger Technology – ist für viele nur durch Kryptowährungen, wie Bitcoin, bekannt und dadurch teilweise mit negativen Assoziationen versehen. In IT-Fachkreisen wird diese innovative Datenbanktechnologie jedoch als revolutionärer Ansatz in den verschiedensten Use Cases gesehen.

Die esatus AG hat sich in diesem Jahr insbesondere mit dem Use Case Identity & Access Management via Blockchain beschäftigt. Die Ergebnisse unseres Research-Teams wurden unter anderem auf den Internet Security Days in Köln und auf der European Identity and Cloud Conference in München diskutiert. Zudem erschienen Fachpublikationen der esatus AG in der <kes> und iX. Ein wesentlicher Schritt war die Gründung der TeleTrusT Arbeitsgruppe Blockchain, die Herr Dr. Kudra, CIO der esatus AG, leitet. Hier können Sie sich auf ein Positionspapier freuen, welches Anfang nächsten Jahres veröffentlicht wird.

Für mehr Informationen zum Use Case Identity & Access Management via Blockchain können Sie gerne diese Präsentation von Herrn Dr. Kudra von der Veranstaltung “NET WORK: Blockchain” der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich und Austria Pro abrufen.

Eine ausführlichere Diskussion finden Sie auch im Podcast von Stiegler Legal.

Für alle Interessierten, die sich mit dem Use Case Identity & Access Management beschäftigen möchten, bietet die esatus AG in Kooperation mit brainbot Technologies nächstes Jahr einen Workshop zur Thematik an.